Anscoflex II – I need to stop looking on Ebay….

DSC_4228

You’d think after purchasing my beloved Xpan that I would tone down the purchases, but I have a hard time passing up a “good deal”.  So when an Anscoflex II came up on Ebay the other day for only $10, I could not help but throw in my bid.  Besides, at $10, there was no way I was ever going to win (eventhough this has happened many, many times…).  Sure enough, mine was the only bid and one short week later (and with cheap shipping) the camera showed up on my doorstep this morning.

About the camera: The anscoflex II is a 620 film camera, and while they no longer make 620 film, you can force a 120 film spool inside with a bit of trimming of the spool ends. The camera came with a 620 spool inside, so as long as I remember to ask for it back when I take it for processing, I should be golden.  I’m likely going to shoot BW with it and process myself.  I might even do some TTV (through the viewfinder) shots with it although having two cameras to take one picture seems like a bit of extra work…

The camera has a yellow filter and a close-up filter built in that you can slide in front of the taking lens.  It’s a fixed focus camera that only has one shutter speed so this camera is as simple as they get.  I have to admit that I bought it mainly because of it’s looks more than anything else.  Apparently it was designed by the same guy who designed the studebaker, but I think it’s a hell of a lot more sexy than any studebaker I’ve ever seen.

No photos yet as it only arrived this morning, but will post some shots soon.

One thought on “Anscoflex II – I need to stop looking on Ebay….

  1. Pingback: Ebay As-Is Camera, Why did I fall for it? « Craft Collective

Leave a Reply

