Craft Inc. – Book Review

41Saedp2TnL._SL500_AA240_

Lately I’ve been toying with the idea of selling some of my woodworking projects and some of my photographs.  I’ve done a couple of paying photo-gigs, and I’ve had some friends and family make requests for furniture pieces, however I’ve never really tried to go out and sell my wares.  While I enjoy my current job, I think being able to take pictures and build things and also get paid for it would be a great thing to happen!

So the other day I was in Uppercase (a review on this store coming next week!) which is an excellent little store in in downtown Calgary.  As I was perusing the book section, I saw Craft Inc. by Meg Mateo Ilasco.  the book is, as the sub-title states, all about “Turning your creative hobby into a business”.  Sounds like the perfect book for me!

To start, the book is a nice size, well laid out with cool fonts, and best of all, rounded corners (why can’t lulu do round corners?)  It is nicely broken up into chapters advising you on creativity, style, production and pricing, marketing and publicity, and many other topics.  These subjects are also supported by interviews with established crafters which lends a lot of credibility to what Meg Mateo Ilasco writes.

I found the book a great help in letting me know about all sorts of details I had never thought of.  It also really got me enthused about getting my butt into gear and to start working on selling my stuff.  Of particular interest to me was the section on pricing. While I understand that the book is directed at crafters who are making smaller type crafts (ie earrings, cards, stationery) the pricing basically states that you should charge:

cost of materials + labour (at around $20/hr or higher) + markup (100% of previous two) = wholesale price

wholesale price x2 = retail price.

I thought about this for my woodworking, and a project I currently have on the go would cost:

$35 +$160 + $195 = $380 retail.

I can’t see a lot of people spending this on my project, however I could see this working out better with smaller items.  Either way it gives you lots to think about.

2 thoughts on “Craft Inc. – Book Review

    • I think it would be hard to compete with places like Ikea (most of my stuff is furniture). They can often sell things for less than I can even buy the materials!

Leave a Reply

