Drill Press Speed Chart

I don’t know about you, but while I thought it was great that my drill press could run at a variety of different speeds, I can honestly say that I’ve never changed the speeds in the 5 years that I’ve owned it.  Now don’t get me wrong, this isn’t due to laziness, being self taught, I had no clue why a certain speed would be better for certain bits and materials.

While searching for the pilot hole chart to figure out what size whole to drill for a given size screw, I stumbled upon a drill press speed chart from Wood Magazine.  It shows the correct speeds for a variety of different drill bits as well as different materials you could drill into.  It’s a handy chart and I’ll be sure to print it off and stick it up on the wall behind the drill press…

See the complete chart here.

Leave a Reply

