52 Create – End Grain Cutting Board

52 Create – my weekly creative project for 2011. While I am extremely pleased with how this week’s project turned out, I’m quite surprised I made anything at all.  In the past week I had friends visiting, 2 dinner parties, 2 birthdays, and a wedding.  Sunday was of course mother’s day and I had nothing prepared, but having just bought a thickness planer (Rigid 4330) I felt that a cutting board might be in order.

It seems as though an end grain cutting board is a bit of a right of passage for a wood worker.  Not owning a planer, I had shied away from this project in the past.  I was pleasantly surprised how easy this project was and how well it turned out.  The board is made of maple and walnut left over from other projects.  Glued together with Titebond II (waterproof) and finished with mineral oil which is food safe.

As this was my first attempt I didn’t go too crazy with the pattern and I also wasn’t exactly sure on the final dimensions, so it’s a bit of an odd shape, but perfect it seems for a loaf of bread.

My other 52 Create projects.

2 thoughts on “52 Create – End Grain Cutting Board

  1. Pingback: 52 Create – Kids Canoe Paddle « Craft Collective

  2. Pingback: 52 Create – Pine End Grain Cutting Board « Craft Collective

Leave a Reply

