52 Create – Pine End Grain Cutting Board

52 Create – my weekly creative output for 2011.  While I have already done one cutting board, I really wanted to try a nice and thick one.  I searched around the net, and while Pine is a soft wood, apparently it has anti-bacterial properties, which makes it a great idea for food prep.  Although it’s soft, because it’s end grain it isn’t so big of an issue.  The other thing is it is so much easier to work with than maple and walnut, and incredibly cheap!  One piece of pine I used for this board cost $5, walnut or maple would have been $30-40!!!

The other thing I like about Pine is the great end grain pattern.  With Maple you really need another contrasting would to give it some interest, whereas Pine is great all on it’s own.

 

In other news, my end grain hockey stick cutting board sold today on my Etsy site! My 3rd sale, hopefully I get a few more over the summer!  I promise next week will not be a cutting board! (although there is one in the pipeline…

 

My Etsy Site

My other 52 Create Projects

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

