52 Create – Walnut End Grain Cutting Board

52 Create – my weekly creative output for 2011.  Shortly before our move, I was trying to use up some of my scrap wood as it wasn’t worth moving it, but I couldn’t bear to throw it away.  I offered my brother a cutting board and he gave me the dimensions so it would fit in his kitchen.  In the end I had to make it a bit narrower in order to fit through my planer, and I ran out of wood so the length was a tad shorter than planned.

I used walnut and maple for this cutting board. The long narrow strips were a last minute addition as I found an extra piece of maple and was trying to extend the length of the board.  I put some rubber feet on the bottom so it wouldn’t slide around on the counter top.  The board is coated in food grade mineral oil.

My other 52 Create Projects.

 

2 thoughts on “52 Create – Walnut End Grain Cutting Board

Leave a Reply

