Some basic lathe work…

While I’m without tools here in Paris, I was fortunate to visit my Uncle over Christmas who has taken up woodworking and has all sorts of great toys… That being said he doesn’t think they should be considered toys when they have the potential to make you a living – good point.

 

Anyways, he had just bought a small lathe and my Aunt had found this silver star, likely meant to go on top of a tree.  These two events combined led to this little wood pedestal to help display the star.  My original plan was a bit more complex, but this being the first time I’d used a lathe in 20 years, I thought I should start out simple.  Finish was some paste wax, not sure what the wood was, looked a bit like Teak and was very oily.

Leave a Reply

