Wooden Pen

Another project done at my Uncle’s over Christmas….  He had made a bunch of wooden pens for his daughters for Christmas.  He had a few pen kits (the metal parts) left over so he thought I should give it a try.  It’s pretty simple to do once you have it all set up.  Again, not too sure of the wood, something like Mahogany.  I didn’t realize the kit that holds the pen blank onto the lathe was thicker than I thought, so the finished pen is quite a bit thicker than the brass hardware.  The kit in the end turned out to be a dud, so the pen doesn’t retract, but that’s fine by me.

 

I finished the pen with a quick coat of CA glue, probably should have done a few coats but I was trying to get it all done while my daughter napped (success!).  I’ll definitely try these again, tons of possibilities with different wood combinations, just need to buy a lathe now…

One thought on “Wooden Pen

Leave a Reply

