Bamboo ring

20120228-212424.jpg

Thought I had posted this project last year but I guess it slipped through the cracks. Got married last year and never got a wedding band as I felt I just wasn’t a ring wearing kind of guy. Fast forward a year and I saw a post on the web about making rings with a drill press and had to try it out. This produced my plywood rings as well as a maple and walnut ring, but shortly after the bamboo rifle stock I decided to try one out of some scrap bamboo. The first one exploded (literally) while I was making it and shot little bamboo pieces across the room, but the second one worked out. I used cartelized bamboo which gives it a darker colour, and while I always meant to finish it with CA glue, I never got around to it. I make sure to not get it wet and so far it’s lasted a couple of months of daily use. It gets a little tight if my hands are sweaty but I love how the grain shows through the end.

20120228-212931.jpg

2 thoughts on “Bamboo ring

  1. I know this is an old post, don’t know if you will see this message…
    This ring does have an interesting design/texture, and so nice to see a man “wanting” to wear a wedding ring! 🙂

    I wanted to ask if you’ve ever tried dinner napkin rings? I’ve always searched for some slightly thin, plain-edged, light to med. (honey-colored) oak napkin rings; but have only found chunky, cheap wood. And/or whatever rings I may have found attractive were way too expensive…

    I also miss the old ’80’s wooden salad bowl sets in a simplistic design. Thought you might be interested in these ideas for your etsy site; I bet they would sell well! Just found your website, have bookmarked your etsy site; may check it again later on 🙂

    Keep up the good work!
    from Pickles, U.S.A.

    • Thanks for the tips on the napkin holders, I’ll have to give it a try but it may be hard without a lathe. I remember the wood salad bowls, simple design but great looking in their own way, I’m sure they will make a comeback sooner or later…

Leave a Reply

