Tool of the week – Card Scraper

While studying at Rosewood, I thought I would initiate a “tool of the week”.  By this I mean a tool I found really useful, not someone in my class who did something particularly stupid…

While I did enjoy using the $400 Lie Nielsen jack plane that was in my student tool kit, I really liked the simplicity and ease of use of the card scraper.  They sell for a few dollars and can be easily sharpened.  Their ability to smooth out wild and curly grained wood is also unmatched.  It also probably brought me back to my former life as a ski wax technician as it uses the same motions as XC ski waxing.

2 thoughts on “Tool of the week – Card Scraper

Leave a Reply

