Captain Awesome

Some days everything goes wrong, and other days I feel like Captain Awesome.  Today was one of those days.  Part of the key was I was in the right frame of mind, but I also took my time, made sure the tools were set up ahead of time and everything was clean and organized.  But I’d like to think some was related to me gaining experience as well.  I guess in a way me learning to take my time and set things up first is due to experience.

photo-17

I did have one set back, 2/3 of the way through the day I was trying to rout a grove using the router table.  It’s not a good one, but it’s better than my old one (and it was free, so can’t complain).  But not only was the fence moving, but it wasn’t straight, or square.  I tried to bend the metal straight and it snapped in half.  Possibly it was a sign that I should make a fence (or maybe I should buy a router table).  For now I quickly put together a simple fence out of some old melamine.  Is it perfectly square? No, but it’s a lot closer than the old one, good enough for now.

photo-18

Anyways, many projects on the go, more than I can handle really, but it feels awesome.  I’ll be posting some of them in the future as they look less like piles of wood and more like something.  Hopefully some new stuff in the Etsy Shop next week as well!

Leave a Reply

