Freitag Dexter Messenger Bag – 1 month of use

About a month ago, I bought a Freitag Dexter Messenger bag to serve as a daddy diaper bag/camera bag.  I have to admit that I bought it mainly because I thought it looked cool, and less for it’s functionality.

Now that I’ve had the chance to use it for awhile, I have grown to appreciate it’s usefulness even more than it’s cool factor.  I did complain before that a vinyl messenger bag got awfully hot on your back while biking, but truth be told, I don’t use it for biking, I’d rather a backpack in that situation.  The vinyl is of course waterproof, which when you’ve got your dslr and your favourite film camera of the day, is mighty useful with Paris’ rainy spring days.

As you can see above, it holds my copy of Reponses Photo, my D300, my Bessa R, and my copy of Le Monde with room to spare (the diapers still could fit in there too!).  The one drawback I have noticed is the lack of padding.  I generally put something between the two cameras to keep them from bumping each other (diapers), but if you put the bag on too quickly, a D300 in the back doesn’t feel too nice…

2 thoughts on “Freitag Dexter Messenger Bag – 1 month of use

  1. Thank you! Can I ask… how does it handle your laptop?

    I’m looking at getting a Freitag bag for my Hubby for Christmas for his laptop. He’s incredibly hard on his things so I thought a Freitag bag would be perfect (super durable)!

    Your comment re: lack of padding is great as I never would have thought of that! Have you found that to be an issue with your laptop?

    Thanks! 🙂

    • I haven’t worried too much about my laptop, but it’s an aluminum MacBook pro which I feel is a lot more durable than your average plastic bodied laptop. With your comment about him being hard on his things, I’d be worried for the laptop. You could buy a laptop sleeve (or make one, I have a post on how to make one out of felt if you search my blog)

Leave a comment